• Object Collection : It’s All True

  • Thursday 10.03
  • 21:00 - 22:30
  • Cornerteateret, Kong Christian Fredriks plass 4
  • Object Collection (ensemble)

4 electric guitars, 2 drum kits, and 1000 hours of live archive from an iconic American post-hardcore band aren’t everyday ingredients for an opera. But then Object Collection from Brooklyn, New York, aren’t an everyday opera company. Rooted firmly in New York’s experimental theatre and music scene, with Robert Ashley and Richard Foreman as their spiritual forebears, they present an entirely radical fusion of composed music and theatre.

Object Collection’s newest piece, It’s All True, captures the energy of the DIY underground, translating the chaos and potential of the music, the performance and the politics in a work that is precisely planned, rigorously executed: the quick inhale before the revolutionary break, frozen in amber. It’s All True will teeter at that moment of indescribable tension before an event occurs, while simultaneously caught in its perpetual reverberation. Is the revolution about to occur? Or did it already happen and we just missed it? The piece will locate the exact moment of dislocation, that agitated state that surrounds the moment of impact, and lingers there – never reaching catharsis and never released from it. It’s All True will ignite in this ecstatic peak of limitless potentiality, where anything is possible yet nothing has happened.

Read an interview with Object Collection

Alongside two performances of It’s All True, Object Collection founders composer Travis Just and director Kara Feely will be joined by members of the Norwegian music and theatre world to discuss the “Opera’s Brave New Future” in a festival symposium open to all (Friday, 11th March, Bergen Kunsthall).

Object Collection is:

Travis Just (composer)
Kara Feely (director)
Peter Ksander (stage designer)
Liz Nielsen (stage manager)

Catrin Lloyd-Bollard (voice and performance)
Daniel Allen Nelson (voice and performance)
Avi Glickstein (voice and performance)
Deborah Wallace (voice and performance)

Gyan Riley (guitarist)
James Moore (guitarist)
Taylor Levine (guitarist)
Joshua Lopes (guitarist)

Owen Weaver (percussionist)
Shayna Dunkelman (percussionist)

Presented in collaboration with Bergen National Opera.
Composition commission with the support by Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation.
Supported by US Embassy, Oslo; Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation through USArtists International in partnership with the National Endowment for the Arts and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and Mental Insight Foundation.

Tweet This   Share this on Facebook