Andreas Borregaard – Solo Act 2: Just Do It!

This concert is online
Watch for free here  
World Premieres

Phillip Venables – My favourite piece is the Goldberg Variations
Marcela Lucatelli – Drift

Andreas Borregaard – accordion, performance
Philip Venables – composition
Ted Huffmann – text
Pierre Martin – video
Marcela Lucatelli – composition, direction & video
Kirstine Fogh Vindelev – text
Nomi – animation

Andreas Borregaard – the accordion superhero – returns digitally to Borealis with his performance Solo Act 2, premiering two new pieces, by British composer Philip Venables and Brazilian composer Marcela Lucatelli. Borregaard visited Borealis back in 2017 with Solo Act performing pieces by Jennifer Walshe and Niels Rønsholdt challenging his boundaries as an accordionist and performer. We're thrilled to have him back in 2021 to digitally present the sequel to this investigative way of working. Borregaard's method acting way of approaching his instrument and performance is unique and evocative giving the audience unexpected experiences from this classically trained musician.

Solo Act 2 is part of Borregaard's doctoral research titled Just Do It! which he has dedicated to exploring the musician’s use of bodily performance. These digital concert sees world premieres from two composers who both deal with confronting the audience around gender and sexuality. My favourite piece is the Goldberg Variations by composer Philip Venables and stage director Ted Huffman is a continuation of their exploration of queer history. The piece is based on interviews with Borregaard's mother Susanne, conducted during the summer of 2020 from which they have formed eleven snapshots of a life over seven decades. Marcela Lucatelli's Drift is based on extracts from the "realness" of Borregaard's life in collaboration with lyricist Kirstine Fogh Vindelev.

Marcela Lucatelli’s work is supported by the Danish Arts Foundation and Koda’s Cultural Funds.
Philip Venable's work supported by support from the Norwegian Academy of Music.