Guro Skumsnes Moe – Resonant Silence

Guro Skumsnes Moe – Resonant Silence
13:00–14:30 & 19:00–20:30
Bergen Arkitekthøgskole (BAS)


NOK 200/175/125
*World Premiere*

Guro Skumsnes Moe – initiative, composition, concept & octobass
Halldis Rønning – conductor & concept
Astrid Groseth – choreography, dance & concept
Elisabeth Holager Lund – scenography & concept
Danishta Rivero – hydrophonium, cello & voice
Jacob Felix Heule – percussion
Oscar Escalante – bag pipe, long wind instruments, percussion & voice
Martín Escalante – alto saxophone, long wind instruments & voice
Vivian Wang – analog synth, percussion & voice
Tuulia Kallio – kantele, tambourine & voice
Kari Rønnekleiv – viola & voice
Laura Marie Rueslåtten – bells & ship bells
John Hegre – sound
Tobias Leira – lighting
Saki Okuda – assistant
Håvard Skaset – assistant

Remember to wear a warm coat!
Soup will be served outside after the concert.
There will be no seating during the concert.

Triggered by iconic Norwegian author Jens Bjørneboe’s colonial histories, composer and performer Guro Skumsnes Moe has set out to find space to dwell on the cavernous silences that history has created. The history of Western Europe, dominated by patriarchal extractivism, colonialism and capitalism is written in the most part by the hands of the men who have destroyed feminine structures, indigenous voices, and natural resources. Yet these histories are today’s shared histories. Through this work, the third in a trilogy of pieces, the concert installation strives to dwell on the discomfort of looking at history, as a catalyst to ask ourself how to move forward. The Resonant Silence of the title, is not a specific voice, or a silence that the piece is trying to resolve or answer. But as Orwell writes in 1984; “Who controls the past controls the future. Who controls the present controls the past” it is only by honestly recognising this silence that is written into the past, that we can release the potential to create new futures, and stop repeating the abuses of those who have gone before us, and that continue today..

Resonant Silence is the result of a 3 year long process, and is devised in creative collaboration and dialogue with conductor and violinist Halldis Rønning, choreographer and dancer Astrid Groseth and set designer Elisabeth Holager Lund. Together with a 9 piece ensemble of improvisers, classical musicians, instrument builders and noise artists hailing from Norway, USA/Venezuela, Mexico, Finland and Singapore, they have created a site specific concert installation for the now empty grain silos and basement of the Bergen School of Architecture. The building’s unique acoustics and resonance create room for both large sounds, but also a deafening silence. The presence and movement of the performers and the audience is the foundation of the communication creating a unique sonic space for reflection and action.

Presented in collaboration with Bergen School of Architecture
Supported by Arts Council Norway, and made possible with support from Klevfos Industrial Museum and Headlands Center for the Arts