Borealis Ung Komponist

Borealis Ung Komponist is a mentor programme that each year takes on four budding composers at the beginning of their career, who want to develop their skills. Together with an ensemble based in the Western part of Norway, the participants get to work with four internationally renowned composers over a period of 8 months. The end result is four new pieces of music that are premiered at the festival. The call for participants goes out in May each year.

This year’s participants in Borealis Ung Komponist

Previous iterations of Borealis Ung Komponist

Composers: Aslak Bjørge Hermstad, Eva Pfitzenmaier, Hilde Annine Hasselberg & Steinar Yggeseth.
Ensemble: YrrY (percussion- & vocal trio): Mari Galambos Grue, Håkon Skjæret & Owen Weaver.
Mentors: Carmina Escobar, Elaine Mitchener, Therese B. Ulvo & Øvyind Torvund.

Composers: Alexander Fiske Fosse, Harald Jordal Johannessen, Rakel Nystabakk & Stephan Meidell.
Ensemble: Saxifraga (saxophone quartet): Lene Myhre Strand, Bjørn Strand, Roger Andreas Holme & Sjasmin Reitehaug.
Mentors: Juliana Hodkinson, Jessie Marino, Maja S.K. Ratkje & Øyvind Torvund.

Composers: Alan Ó Ragallaigh, Kristin Bolstad, Tine Grieg Viig & Øyvind Skarbø.
Ensemble: Rosella (string quartet): Johanne Skaansar, Carmen Boveda, Vladimíra Ščigulinská, Claudia Cox.
Mentors: Christian Wallumrød, Øyvind Torvund, Natacha Diels & Joanna Bailie.

This year’s ensemble

This year’s mentors